National Trust of Guyana

Kuru Kururu Independence Monument

Table of Contents

Reading Progress

Located in Kuru Kururu, on the Linden/Soesdyke Highway, is the Independence Monument. It was unveiled in 1976 on the occasion of Guyana’s 10th Independence anniversary. The monument was dedicated in the presence of then Prime Minister, Mr. Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham, and duty Prime Minister, Ptolemy Alexander Reid, along with other government officials.